Celebrating Our Student Athletes

This year, the National School Games returned in full force for the first time since 2019. With restrictions due to the pandemic from 2020 to 2022, many of our school sports teams did not get the chance to compete against other schools in the usual formats, let alone at the zonal or national level. It was with great pride and excitement that our students got to represent the school at the Games this year.

Despite this being some of our athletes’ first Games, many of them put up strong performances and displayed excellent teamwork and camaraderie throughout the season. We checked in with them to find out how they felt about their NSG experience.

Artistic Gymnastics

This entire NSG journey was a memorable one. Leading up to NSG, training sessions became harder and the coaches were stricter. Despite facing challenges such as injuries and coping with academic work, I managed to pull through and put my all into improving for NSG. I am extremely grateful for my teammates as they have supported me throughout the training process and cheered me on! They were definitely my greatest pillar of support and I couldn’t have done it without them.

Lorraine (Team Member)

Badminton

During NSG, there were definitely stressful, challenging and sometimes even frustrating times, but I’m very proud of our team for overcoming these adversities together as one to win our first ever nationals Champion! The moment when we won will always be etched in my mind: the smiles, the cheers, the screams, the hugs and just pure happiness and excitement. NSG is the most fun and fulfilling experience I have had in Nanyang. Always, NYBT 杀杀杀!

Vice Captain, Sabrina (Vice Captain)

Basketball

As this is my last year representing Nanyang, this season was definitely a fruitful and memorable one. This was also my first Nationals representing Nanyang. This NSG experience has opened my knowledge a lot more, on myself, my team and definitely other players from other schools. It was also an eventful season.

Jing Ling (Captain)

Judo

Having been injured in S3, I missed my chance to participate in NSG last year. Thus, my participation in the NSG this year would be my first and last one in Nanyang. However, due to silly mistakes, I failed to get a placing in the weight category and it was absolutely devastating as I had worked extremely hard to make it worthwhile. But it is okay! As cliché as it may sound, the process and the skills I have learnt while working towards NSG was much more important than the result I had attained, and the learning outcomes that I had were much more meaningful during this NSG season!

Kit Wai (Vice Captain)

Netball

Nanyang Netball’s NSG journey was one filled with many hardships. But with the team supporting each other, we managed to push through the tough times. We might not have achieved our desired goals this season but nevertheless, we are extremely proud of ourselves for doing our best. The memories created and friendships forged along the way will be extremely valuable to us. Thank you 教练, teachers, and our amazing team for making the Sec 4s’ last season such an unforgettable one.

Nanyang Netball B Division Team

Softball

I enjoyed playing against the other schools with my teammates. Our NSG season definitely bonded us closer together, even with the Sec 3s. Although it was only the second season, we were able to play to the best of our ability. I always looked forward to the bus rides to our competitors’ schools, admiring their large fields and eating dinner together after games. I am grateful to be able to play with my team for one last season before we have to graduate.

Ayami (Captain)

Table Tennis

This was the first and last NSG in my time in Nanyang. Everyone was aiming to get first, and we all expected to get into finals. Sadly, we lost to Dunman during the semifinals. However, I was still really proud of my team as I knew many of us had worked hard and even trained outside of school for this competition. Additionally, our team really cheered hard for those playing that day and I think that was one of the most memorable parts of this year’s NSG!

Sofia (Vice Captain)

Tennis

As this was my last year representing Nanyang to compete in the National School Games, my teammates and I approached each match with the same goal – to be able to spend our last year together and give it our best shot. Since it was not our first time participating in NSG, we were not too nervous and were excited. We trained hard before our season started as we were determined to get through the group stage and into the semi-finals. We managed to obtain 3rd place in the National School Games amidst all the hard work and I am grateful for the memories that we created together as a team.

Katelyn (Captain)

Track and Field

We were all very excited for NSG because this year, it was finally back to being held at the Sports Hub. I am immensely proud that NYTF gave our best in NSG, clinching individual and division titles. The strong team spirit shown in the journey leading up to NSG is what brought us together as one NYTF family, supporting and motivating each other throughout tough periods.

Ting Wei (Captain)

Volleyball

This year’s NSG experience was really a very memorable one, and I want to thank all the coaches, teachers, teammates and our juniors for putting in a lot of effort to reach our goals. Although this season was filled with ups and downs, crying and so much more, I am really proud that we pulled through, and I wouldn’t choose any other people to go through the season with. Good luck for the C division this year and B division next year!!

Kaylin (Captain)

Wushu

With NSG season overlapping with WA season, this NSG was definitely not an easy one. We had to juggle between hectic training schedules and studies, and had our fair share of injuries and muscle aches. However, I am glad that we were all able to persevere and push through despite the tough times, allowing us to become stronger and more resilient.

Kaiqian (Captain)