Secondary One Orientation 2023

This year, with the easing of Safe Management Measures, we were able to welcome the newest members of our school to the community with a traditional Orientation Programme. Let’s hear what some of our Secondary One students have to say about the experience!

The way the seniors welcomed us to the Nanyang family was just like how elder sisters welcome their baby sister home. The facilitators were very patient as they brought us on a tour around the school and explained the uses of the different venues. At first, it felt very awkward when interacting with my classmates and facilitators. However, I felt that the Secondary One Orientation really met its purpose because we got to bond as a class and get to know one another. I think the highlight of the Secondary One Orientation was the campfire performance. Although 2 hours were given to prepare for our performance, my class had already planned it a few days before, and used the preparation time to rehearse instead. Moreover, my classmates cooperated with one another and before long, we had sorted everything out. We had even completed the BINGO challenge as a class! What I took away from this experience is that we have to cooperate with one another and plan ahead of time. I know that the facilitators and teachers had put in lots of effort to prepare for this Secondary One Orientation. A big thank you to you, facilitators and teachers!! If given the opportunity, I would also like to do the same for my juniors in future!!

Toh Cheng Xuan (102)

Remember the first day of primary school when you entered a foreign environment as a young student? Can you remember how apprehensive you were?

My first day of secondary school was similar, honestly! I pondered, “Everybody says secondary school life is busy, would I be able to cope? Will teachers dole out loads of homework that are impossible to finish?”

Pulling myself together I told myself, “Whatever challenges, it is part and parcel of secondary school life! Be resilient!” Though I was a bundle of nerves, I was eager to go to the classroom. On the way, I chatted with a senior student joyfully. My uneasiness was brushed away. Reaching my classroom, I entered it for the first time. Glancing around at the sea of unfamiliar faces, I was ushered by energetic facilitators who bubbled with enthusiasm. I briefly got to know some classmates around me before my form teacher strode into the classroom and introduced herself; she was welcoming and cordial. We proceeded to the hall where the principal gave a meaningful speech. Unexpectedly after, the cohort got to sing some of my favourite pop songs! We were on cloud nine, and I began to learn about our glorious Nanyang. Over the next few days, I learnt fascinating facts about the campus during the tour guided by our seniors who were fun loving. I attended the talk in the auditorium about school history, and realised the hardships the founders of NYGH went through for our school to be flourishing in the present day. I take pride in being part of the Nanyang Family and having the opportunity to have a greater understanding of the school! Through many team bonding activities with my class, I soon got to make many new friends! Under the guidance of the facilitators, I learnt our school cheers, school song and 1917.

Three awesome days whizzed past quickly and it was time for the anticipated Campfire Night!  My class had fun practicing the dance moves in class. It took much coordination and effort! The moment before stepping onto stage, I experienced stage fright, but my friends and I overcame it together. It was alright to be nervous! On stage, our class showcased our talents by dancing energetically to the music played. We all had bouts of fun! Everyone was disappointed when the night ended. Although the fun of the orientation had ended, there was a whole new beginning of school life for four years in Nanyang! These truly fruitful and distinctive memories will be etched in my mind.

My deepest gratitude to teachers and seniors who made our orientation smooth sailing! Lastly, thank you NY!

– Erin Neo (105)

Every beginning has an end. This is the beginning to my end.

I walked along the pavement to school, my heart brimming with pure hope and anticipation. I watched the Nanyang Girls’ High School campus come into view. Breathtaking. The towers, the terracotta bricks, the swan-like grass covered slopes. I didn’t feel worthy enough to set foot in this school. Alas, I continued walking. One footstep, two footsteps. Squeak. Squeak. Squeak. After navigating through this labyrinth of a school, I stepped into the classroom and unfamiliar faces greeted me. Cold sweat? No problem. Heart palpitations? No problem. Anxiety increasing by the second? No problem! I took a seat and surveyed my surroundings. Before I could assess my situation though, I was interrupted by some extremely cheerful voices.

“Hi! Hello!” I looked up to see some very intimidating human beings. “We’re your facilitators for your Sec One Orientation!” The introvert in me screamed at me to retreat into my bubble and lay low. Nothing good can come from attention. On the other hand, new year new resolutions? I sighed. Not even five minutes in the school and Nanyang has brainwashed my soul already. Taking a deep breath, I convinced myself to start this year off optimistic. With that being said, our first few days went by in a breeze. Nevertheless, the best was yet to come. Our campfire.

Fire. Flickering eternally. Chaos. Destruction. The ball of unknown substance hung from a silver rope, beautiful and pristine. Our principal held the lighter close to it. The world slowed and I watched the flames lick at the ball cautiously before devouring it. The ball was consumed ruthlessly, lit in a whirlpool of smoke and blaze before it whooshed down the rope and into the campfire pit. Within seconds, the campfire flickered ablaze. Fire. Sometimes even a miracle. The night went on, applause after applause, cheer after cheer that reverberated through our enormous school campus. I stood by the sidelines, watching the magic happen before my eyes. Watching the passion and drive our seniors had towards the school, it gave me hope that one day we would be like that, holding the same fire in our hearts, each one drumming to the same Nanyang beat.

Every beginning has an end. This is the beginning to my end.

Chloe Wong Yu Xuan (109)